Hanging onto Hope

After waiting on Booth for 3 days, I had pretty much given up. This did not stop me checking my application. Oh no I religiously refreshed my page at the equivalent of 9am Chicago time every day. With each passing day and no updates, I thought that was it for me. When I checked it today, I saw the words update. On clicking through, I was invited to interview. I just couldn’t believe it and all I could manage was to sit at my desk grinning like a Cheshire cat. So for those still waiting on Booth or Wharton, best of luck. Even if you think all hope is gone, sometimes you can be pleasantly surprised.

As I mentioned in my previous post, this waiting business really is a rollercoaster of emotion. When you finally find out your fate (good or bad), you get an outpouring of pent up frustration/happiness much like Ron Burgundy when he lost Baxter. The worst thing is this is only the beginning. With interviews comes more hope. You start imagining what it would be like if you get an admit or even better multiple admits! But we’re getting ahead of ourselves here.

With hope comes anxiety. I must admit as an applicant I prefer one day of interview invitations. That way you know where you stand, in or out. I feel sorry for those applicants whose schools have month long windows for interview invitations. I can’t imagine a period of limbo 4 times as long as Booth’s!

Finally, there is a first time for everything and today is the day I double-gif in a post! Morgan Freeman in one phrase epitomises what the application process has been like for me.

P.S. I haven’t quite reached hamm0’s gif finding abilities as demonstrated in this epic 5 gif post. I will probably stick to my 1 gif per post next time.

This entry was posted in Booth, Interview and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hanging onto Hope

  1. hamm0 says:

    Ha! Thanks for the mention. Congrats on locking down your second interview invite – you’re going to crush this application season!

  2. cavegirlmba says:

    Sounds like a nice update! What a difference a line on a computer screen can make.

Leave a Reply

