Tuck = Awesome

As I’m wrapping up my Boston trip, I thought I would recap on my experience at Tuck. As you can tell from the title of this blog post, I really enjoyed myself. I guess I will share my experience of the interview and the other events during the day first. Then I can pass on my other impressions before giving a bit of travel advice.

My day at Tuck went in this order: interview, lunch with students, tour, and then admissions Q&A. So I turned up at the designated time to the admissions office and was collected by a 2nd year. I won’t go into the in’s and out’s of the interview but I was spewing out information like crazy. My tip is look at the clearadmit for previous interview questions (linked in a previous post). My interview was similar to all the other reports. One thing I would say is that 30mins is extremely short. It doesn’t sound like it but it will fly by. Therefore make sure you get all your points across and try to avoid waffling.

After the interview, the whole group of applicants met with two 2nd years and one 1st year for lunch. They were pretty candid and willing to answer all and any questions that we had. The tour was pretty cool. You can’t help but get slightly excited that you might be looking at the place where you will spend 2 years. Finally there was a Q&A with a member of the admissions team.

It’s fair to say I enjoyed my time at Tuck. You just can’t help it when you meet the students, who are all enthusiastic and can detail specific the specific reasons why they love Tuck. On top of that, the Dartmouth campus is pretty. For me, having never experienced a true US campus, it was an eye opening experience. I can appreciate the benefits of being in a remote town like Hanover as opposed to a city campus. At the end of the day, it’s only 2-3 hours from Boston as well so a city is fairly accessible. I get a sense it is an opportunity to really concentrate on your MBA and also spend quality time with your classmates. You will not be just a face in a crowd at Tuck. Instead you will get an education that has personal touches for each person. Each member of the class is engaged to make it a truly special place.

I am glad I made the trip. It also gave me some additional essay materials which can’t hurt. Bring on November round!

Domotron does travel advice

For those that are looking to interview at Tuck in the future, I can offer the following bits of advice:

If you are travelling into Logan airport in Boston, you can grab the Dartmouth Coach pretty much right outside the terminal. It takes around 3hours and drops you right in the middle of Dartmouth campus. This saves you the effort of having to hire a rental and drive. Also the parking for Tuck is not exactly close so you can remove that headache.

As for accomodation, ideally you would stay with a student on campus. The dorms are connected to the main Tuck building and you would only have about a 5 minute walk at most to the admissions office. This was not an option for me and I stayed at a hotel instead. Full disclosure, the hotels on campus are both a) really nice and b) kind of expensive. I stayed at Six South Street Hotel which was at most 10 minutes walk from Tuck. While it was not cheap, it was well worth the cost just to be a short walk away. This way I had no worries about finding parking. I also saw another guy staying there who was interviewing at Tuck.

If you have any more questions about my experience visiting Tuck or have any questions about travelling to Tuck, don’t hesitate to comment and I will try and help.

This entry was posted in Interview, School Visit, Tuck and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Tuck = Awesome

  1. Timbob says:

    Hi Dom, hope it all went well out there. Glad you enjoyed it, read your post and HammO’s – sounds like you both had a blast!

  2. Ellie says:

    Great to hear that your visit was both fun and fruitful 🙂 What’s up next?

    • domotron says:

      Well, I am working on my Tuck application for the November deadline. While I am doing that crossing my fingers for the rest of my R1 schools!

  3. Pingback: Anxiety and thoughts on HBS visit | Domotron

  4. Pingback: Eeny, meeny, miny, mo, catch an MBA school by its toe | sarah's mba journey

  5. Pingback: Part 3 Networking / Research – Elements of an MBA application series | Domotron

  6. Anupam says:

    Hey Dom,
    Reading this now and getting excited about my visit! It is still a couple (and a half) months away, but looking forward to it.

    I know you will be on campus then, and it would be great if we could meet up.

    Regards,
    Anupam.

Leave a Reply

