LBS info session and evolving essays

So a couple of parts to this post. Last week I attended (another) LBS info session, so I will pass on a few snippets of what I learnt. Then I will give an update on my progress on my apps.

LBS Info Session

The info session I attended last week was pretty similar in nature to the others that I have attended. However, seeing it is so close I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to hear from more current students and alumni. Oliver Ashby (the director of MBA admissions), also gave a really good presentation about what the LBS MBA offers. A few things I picked up from the session:

  1. British students are definitely a minority at LBS. I knew this but one of the current students actually used the word “endangered species” to describe them.
  2. The current students and alumni are extremely frank about the pros and cons of LBS. This was particularly relevant with regards to LBS’s reputation around the world.
  3. Diversity is a big focus. This was pretty evident even in the different nationalities of the prospective students.
  4. Finally, not a point about LBS but wow the entire lecture hall was full of prospective MBA students. This was on top of the other info sessions such as EMBA running concurrently.

Essays

Rather than giving a boring update of the progress of my various essays I am going to use the picture above and rank them in terms of evolutionary stages:

Wharton: some kind of primitive land based lizard
HBS: Amoeba
Booth: Fish
Kellogg: Tadpole
Tuck: Not started
LBS: Not started

All this is on top of going through a whole raft of online form filling. At this point, most of my applications are 80% filled out waiting for a revised resume, essay questions and recommendations. In terms of my game plan, I would say this is just about on target as long as I make serious progress on the HBS essay soon (or maybe I will just be brave and submit sans essay!).

This entry was posted in Booth, Essays, Harvard Business School, Kellogg, London Business School, School Visit, Tuck, Wharton and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to LBS info session and evolving essays

  1. Ellie says:

    Lol! The stages are too funny! 🙂 Good luck with the essays!

  2. Pingback: Stacy Blackman’s B-School Buzz | Stacy Blackman Consulting - MBA Admissions Consulting

  3. Wharton: some kind of primitive land based lizard
    HBS: Amoeba
    Booth: Fish
    Kellogg: Tadpole
    Tuck: Not started
    LBS: Not started

    Creatvieeeeeee! 🙂 All the best! 🙂

Leave a Reply

