Back to the grind

Apologies for the long delay between posts. I have been away for 2 weeks getting some much needed r&r. One of the places I went to was Lake Louise (pictures above), which is simply one of the most breathtaking lakes in the world. If you ever get a chance, it is well worth the trip (as are the Canadian Rockies in general).

So with my mind and body full refreshed, it is now the time to get back to the grind of b-school applications. Deadlines are looming ever closer, the feeling of “oh there is still 2 months till the HBS deadline” has now changed to “oh wow there is only just over a month…”. With that in mind, I have finished my first complete set of draft essays. I decided to tackle the Wharton ones first because a) I am still aiming for R1 for Wharton and b) the essay prompts were relatively straightforward (hooray!). However, I am under no illusions that these drafts will be terrible when compared to my later ones. But I have worked on them to such an extent that I need to leave them to stew for a couple of weeks, tackle another set of essays in that time, before returning to critique them.

Just before I left for my holiday, I also approached my recommenders. Out of all different parts to the application, this was one that gave me the most sleepless nights as it was something I had the least control over. I really had no idea how they would react when asked but I ended up with 2 recommenders on board. All that is left is finish up my recommenders pack and give them some insight as to what the process entails and what is required. Most importantly, I need to steer them to get them to submit their recommendations in on time!

In terms of progress for this week, I need to start brainstorming for my HBS essay due to the impending deadline. Hopefully, my relatively free schedule over the coming week and weekend should bode well for productivity. We shall see.

P.S. I cannot take credit for that photo, it is merely from wikipedia.

This entry was posted in Essays, Recommendations, Wharton and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

