Dinged at Kellogg, end of my MBA application journey

Kellogg was the last school I was waiting on. It was definitely the best decision day I had in the sense that I did not feel there was a huge amount riding on the end result. As it happens, the result was a ding. I would be lying if I said I wasn’t a tiny bit disappointed because hey everyone wants to feel wanted right! However, being completely honest, if given the choice I would have picked Tuck over Kellogg because I have visited Tuck and not Kellogg and just felt a real fit with the community there. This decision was the only outstanding thing to my confirming my place at Tuck. It feels like a weight off my shoulders now that my application journey is over and I am officially a Tuckie!

Final scorecard

  • HBS (R1) – Dinged w/o interview
  • Wharton (R1) – Dinged w/ interview
  • Booth (R1) – Dinged w/ interview
  • Tuck (November round) – Admitted w/ self-initiated interview
  • Kellogg (R2) – Dinged w/ interview

P.S. Accepted.com are running a free webinar for Class of 2017 applicants on Thursday, March 27th at 5:00pm PT / 8:00pm ET sign up at http://reports.accepted.com/get_accepted_in_2015

Full disclosure I did not use Accepted.com or any other admissions consultant. However they do offer a lot of useful (free) advice, so do take advantage of it and make your own mind up as to whether you feel you require the services of an admissions consultant.

This entry was posted in Decisions, Ding, Kellogg, Tuck and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Dinged at Kellogg, end of my MBA application journey

  1. Ellie says:

    Oh well..same boat..except I don’t get to be at the class of 2016. BUT, Congratulations again…:) when does the moving start?

    • domotron says:

      Are you thinking of trying again later this year?
      I will move to Hanover mid-August and hopefully take part in a pre-term activity of some variety.

  2. knightmba says:

    Congratulations Domo. That was a fight well fought. I wish you all the best in Tuck, and make the best use of it.

    • domotron says:

      Thanks knightmba, it was a tough journey for sure. Hope you get some good news from Insead soon and get off that waitlist.

  3. DefyingGravity says:

    You are going to have an amazing two years at Tuck, Domo! It’s been your clear favorite for awhile.

    • domotron says:

      Thanks DF. I really do love Tuck so I am super happy that it worked out!
      Good luck with HBS today, you are having an amazing application season.

  4. Pingback: Fridays from the Frontline - Clear Admit Blog

  5. Pingback: Stacy Blackman’s B-School Buzz | Stacy Blackman Consulting - MBA Admissions Consulting

Leave a Reply

