Rollercoaster of emotions

I have been saving this Aaron Rodgers Matt Flynn gif for when I have something to celebrate. What a difference a week makes. Replacing the low of being rejected by HBS last week is the high of receiving an invite to interview from Wharton yesterday. I had to read the email and the message three times before I realised it was real. It really was me that they wanted to interview. One thing I definitely underestimated was how much of a rollercoaster the process is.

The Wharton interview invite was huge particularly because the essays for Wharton were my first completed set. My whole application strategy hinged on receiving some kind of feedback from my R1 schools to gauge whether I am competitive. What the interview invite tells me is that miraculously my essays were not complete rubbish! (Although I should caveat this by saying that since completing them, I realised I had a ton to improve on also). This invite validates at least my strategy and tells me that I am not bonkers for thinking I had a shot. Pending feedback from Booth, I now have a much better idea of what type of schools I should apply to in R2.

As much as I would like to interview on campus, I am just not able to get the time off work. Luckily, London is one of the hub cities so I don’t have to organise flights and hotels. For me it is just a short train/tube ride away. The interview itself will be a 45minute Team-Based Discussion with 5-6 fellow applicants followed by a short 1-on-1 with a member of the admissions committee. Honestly, I have no idea how this will play out on the day. Will the people be aggressive or nice? How assertive will I have to make sure I contribute but also not step on other people’s toes? It must vary so much from group to group. I am going to have to be on the ball and quickly grasp the group dynamic quickly on the day. This is definitely an area where I have to do more research.

With the good news from Wharton, I am now waiting on Booth who are release their invites throughout next week. Best of luck to all those who are still waiting on Wharton interview invites. Based on last year, it looks like they released their invites in roughly 4 waves. So there is still hope!

This entry was posted in Interview, Wharton and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Rollercoaster of emotions

  1. hugoness says:

    Contratulations and best of luck!! Although I am more of a Tom Brady fan.

  2. Timbob says:

    Great news Dom! Do you know when your interview is?

    I’m still waiting for news from Wharton, their website says they’re releasing decisions all week so I hope I don’t have to wait too long..

    • domotron says:

      The range of dates for London is 18th-22nd November but the Monday and Friday were already fully booked when I got round to booking my slot!

  3. sarahrs81 says:

    good luck-well done on the Wharton interview. For the group discussion have a look at business articles provide advice on delivering a positive impact in meetings/potentially brain storming sessions.

  4. Good Luck! says:

    Aaron Rodgers is number 12… This is not him. Nonetheless congrats!!! Keep up the good work.

    • domotron says:

      Damn you’re right. I clearly didn’t look closely. I just thought it was Rodgers doing his belt aka discount double check celebration!

  5. hamm0 says:

    Congrats! I’m sure you’ll convert the interview offer to a real offer in due time!

    FYI, Matt Flynn in the gif…

  6. Lucas says:

    Congratulations! And good luck with that interview.

  7. teleste says:

    WTG mate. I didn’t fish too hard on your blog but wondered…are you a Yankee or a Brit?

    Are you gonna tell us how the team based discussions turns out?? (You’d better!) :)

    ~best

  8. Pingback: Fridays From The Frontline - Clear Admit Blog

  9. Pingback: Stacy Blackman’s B-School Buzz | Stacy Blackman Consulting - MBA Admissions Consulting

  10. Ellie says:

    Great news! Goodluck for the step 2 :)

Leave a Reply

