Wharton down, prepping for interview(s)!

I submitted my Wharton application on Monday. Time for another mini-celebration. It is actually pretty crazy to think that I have finished 2 of 6 apps already (and well on my way to finishing my third). With a week to go to Booth’s R1 deadline, I am actually pretty relaxed. I just need to do some tweaking on the essays/presentation rather than make wholesale changes. However, very soon we will start entering the interview territory. In particular, HBS are releasing their interview invites early to mid October. Precise dates are on Dee’s blog on the HBS website. I am trying not to think about that too much at the moment. It’s far to easy to be paralysed by “will I get an interview invite or not” rather than concentrating on the task at hand. Which leads me onto Tuck.

I really need to start preparing for my Tuck interview. For those that don’t already know, there is a section on the ClearAdmit site for interview questions. (http://www.clearadmit.com/schools/) These have been submitted by applicants from previous years or earlier rounds. After reading a few interview reports, you start to get a sense of what might come up.

As for practicing for interviews, I think this is down to personal preference. The last thing I want is to script a perfect answer to every question because it will come across far too robotic. Also if you are reciting rather than thinking on your feet, there might be a surprise question and you will be scrambling to find an answer. I prefer to look at the questions beforehand and have a think about what I might say on the day. I then condense a few ideas onto a one page cheat sheet. This way I have some well developed ideas about certain scenarios or experiences that I can refer to during the interview but I will still come across eloquent yet not too rehearsed.

I will be interested to know how others approach their interview prep.

This entry was posted in Booth, Harvard Business School, Interview, School Visit, Tuck, Wharton and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wharton down, prepping for interview(s)!

  1. Ellie says:

    Perfect self five moment :) and a third of the task done. Booyah!

  2. I don’t want to prepare any interview before I get actual invitations for fear I would feel too bad if I don’t get any !

  3. Pingback: Stacy Blackman’s B-School Buzz | Stacy Blackman Consulting - MBA Admissions Consulting

  4. sarahrs81 says:

    Good luck with the rest of the applicants. I would recommend making the effort to do decent prep on the interviews. You can really tell when someone has made an effort which means they doesn’t waffle, make their point well and can show they have done research on the school and shows real enthusiasm. But yeah I wouldn’t want to prep for an interview before I got one either-soul destroying if you didn’t get it and you done the work.

  5. Pingback: Stacy Blackman’s B-School Buzz | The GMAT Club

Leave a Reply

